Sunday, April 24, 2011

Easter - s/t (1987, Chameleon)

Easter.  What's in a name?  Well, given the moniker of this L.A. area outfit, if it isn't appropriate for me to share this platter today when will it?  By now, the lucky few who are acquainted with Easter are probably aware of  Mike Ness' affiliation with the group.  I don't have much of a backgrounder to share (though I could have sworn there was a fairly thorough webpage dedicated to them about a year or so ago that seems to have vanished entirely) but Mr. Social D served as guitarist for Easter prior to the recording of this album, and appeared in the videos for "Lights Out" and "Slippin Away."  Performing as a trio for this record, Easter delved headfirst into a driving, hook-savvy strain of album-oriented rock with edgy post-punk inflections.  Headmaster Danny Phillips doles out an unremitting volley of sweet, ringing guitar chords and his mates Chad Carrier and Korky possess more than muscular rhythmic chops.  Easter saw the light of day on Chameleon Records, the same imprint that was home to Dramarama.  The band reissued a cd-r version of the album, padding on a handful of remixes for bonus tracks.  From what I can tell it's still available through CD Baby, which means I'll only be hosting these files temporarily.  This rip is taken from my fairly pristine vinyl copy.  As always, if you like what you hear please support the band!

01. Manhattan Boy
02. Pictures
03. Lights Out
04. Sidewalk Girl
05. Little Boy
06. Lifes Goes On
07. Steady Rockers
08. Slippin Away
09. Latest Flame
10. No Violence

Get it from CD Baby and Amazon


Rinjo Njori! said...

I would rate this as in interesting oddity for Social D fans. Some of these songs sound like Big country - lite. Others are downright Silly-- Steady Rockers anyone.

Rinjo Njori! said...

Glad Mike came to his senses and focused on Social D.

spavid said...

I have an appreciation for Easter, but yeah some of the songs have that anthemic Big Country bent to them. Not a bad thing if absorbed in moderation I suppose.

chad said...

those extra tracks on the CD baby version are from the "Manhattan Boy" 12".