Friday, December 10, 2010

The Next - s/t (1982, Four/Four)

With a name as ubiquitous as this Arizona quintet's chosen moniker, a typical web query yields nothing of relevance, even when I included the names of some of The Next's roster.  Oh well.  For better or worse, this rekid ain't nothing to die for, but somewhat rewarding for those of you who don't mind a little AOR meshing with vaguely wave-ish synth rock.  The Next pass themselves off as fairly state-of-the-art, but the band's often frivolous, suburbanite concerns undercut the very integrity they're seemingly striving for. The arenas, and for that matter the world at large, would have no part of The Next, but luckily you can by hitting the hyperlink below.  BTW, I'm including an extra large scan of the back cover for purposes of reading the lyrics. 

01. Steal the Show
02. The One Nighter
03. Game
04. One More Square
05. Oops! (Wrong Planet)
06. Dine 'n' Dash
07. Science Fiction Movies
08. Gotta Be a Reason
09. Don't Know What You Want
10. Let's Be More Than Friends


joseph kyle said...

this is hilarious stuff. it kinda reminds me of that Teenbeat band, Romania.

PoodleHead2005 said...

Could you re-up this album please? Thanks. :)

spavid said...

The link has been updated.

PoodleHead2005 said...

Thank you!!!